Challenge #1: Clean Out Your Closet!

Since it is a new year and all that, let’s start with an organization project. Let’s clean out our closets.

I don’t mean the usual move stuff around, look at the clothes you never wear, and convince yourself you’ll wear them again thing. I mean, for real. Let’s get rid of stuff that takes up space, gets shoved to the bottom of a half-heartedly folded pile of clothes, and makes us feel bad about ourselves. The goal is to end up with a clean closet, yes, but also to end up with a closet that contains things you actually want to wear.

So….

Get rid of stuff! This means:

  • clothes that are torn, worn, or in some way irreparable (this also includes the clothes you could theoretically fix, but have been sitting around for at least 10 months, and will continue to sit around taking up space. If you want to keep the shirt so much, go sew on a new button. If not, get rid of it!)
  • clothes you don’t like (because they’re ugly or uncomfortable or someone gave it to you and you feel obligated to keep it)
  • clothes you haven’t worn in at least a year (you probably won’t wear them this year, either)
  • clothes that don’t fit (I know, I know. I have an entire section in my closet dedicated to clothing that fits me only at various times when all the planets align or whatever, but seriously. Let them go.)
  • clothes that make you feel blah (for whatever reason- maybe the fit is weird, even though it technically fits. If it makes you feel blah, you aren’t going to wear it, which means it is just taking up space.)

Be honest with yourself. Try things on as necessary. Throw whatever items fall into the “get rid of it” category in to a box, and take them away (to the trash, if they’re not usable, to Goodwill if they are). Don’t overthink it and convince yourself to keep things that are taking up space and making you feel blah.

Don’t let your closet make you feel like this!

I am now off to take my own advice. Here’s to convincing myself once and for all that I really don’t need seven black skirts or a Wildcats shirt that I last wore six years ago. See you on Wednesday.

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Monday Mission and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenge #1: Clean Out Your Closet!

  1. Madelyn says:

    I’m in! My goal is to take 3 trash bags of stuff to Goodwill or the resale store.

Leave a Reply

