Challenge #1, in progress

So. I have two closets. I feel kind of ashamed to have two closets semi-bursting with clothes, but in my defense, they’re non-walk-in closets. In my last two places, I had AWESOME walk-ins; both had built-in shelves, and I was super spoiled. My new place, though I love it, doesn’t have such luxe clothes storage spaces. I do have two “normal” closets directly opposite each other, so it works out despite being a bit awkward.

Anyway, all that to say that one closet is cleaned out. It’s the closet that contains my normal (ie: not winter, since it barely exists here in Arizona) clothing- t-shirts, tank tops, and blouses, mainly. I have a hard time getting rid of those items because, for the most part, they still fit even when your weight fluctuates, and it’s easy to justify another t-shirt in a slightly different shade. Actually, in my case it’s always easy to justify a slightly different style of black t-shirt (“but this one has a gathered crew neck instead of a ruched v-neck! I must have it!”).

Goodbye, blouse and dress from two Halloweens ago!

I had been hanging on to a couple blouses that I really liked but didn’t fit me very well. I tried them on and was pleasantly surprised that two of them fit me again. Two did not, so into the pile they went. So far I’ve gotten rid of a shirt that I liked despite its small but annoying hole in the bottom front, a couple tank tops that were too tight to feel comfortable or look presentable, and a handful of Threadless tees that have become too short over multiple washes (I’m not a fan of their newer shirts. It seems my older ones have fared better). Also? Having a daily photo blog is a good reality check for whether or not you wear an article of clothing.

For instance, the last time I wore this shirt was April 1st, 2007. Seriously.

The other closet contains pants, long-sleeved “winter” clothing, skirts, and dresses. I forced myself to try on some skirts I haven’t worn in a while. Flowered skirt with tulle layer? Toss. Handmade flower print skirt? Toss. Black skirts of various types? Toss.

Sigh. Weight gain.

My progress so far.

I haven’t mustered up the courage to start on my stacks of pants. I’m currently in a four stack system:

  1. Pants that definitely do not fit
  2. Pants that almost fit (but don’t)
  3. Random capri pants
  4. Pants I actually wear

How stupid is it that I can’t and don’t wear 75% of my pants? I already know this without having to try on anything. My pants situation is especially ridiculous because I can wear jeans at my current job, so I wear jeans 95% of the time now anyway. I’m predicting that I will try on all the pants on Friday, possibly after some kind of a beverage. It’s going to be a blow to the ego for sure, even though I already know the outcome.

At least I can look forward to having lots of space. Ha.

I hope your closet cleaning is equally productive, but less emotionally traumatizing!

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in What I'm Doing Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge #1, in progress

  1. Janet Regina says:

    I like that ruffle skirt!

    I have a problem! I am looking at your giveaways for stuff to add to my closet!

  2. The chinos are 10’s, too. They’re a dark grey. Email me your address on FB and I’ll send them to you. Free shipping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

