Challenge #2: Try a New Food!

So lately I’ve been in a food rut. Lately being the past decade in which I have been primarily responsible for all my meals. I like lots of different kinds of foods, but here’s what I do. I go through phases of eating the same 3-4 foods day in, day out until I get tired of it and move on to something different.

Except, in my case, that could last anywhere from a couple weeks to, um, months. I’m pretty sure I once ate peanut butter toast at least once a day for around eight months. As someone who likes to cook, that gets a little boring.

Mmmm.... Brussels sprouts.

My recent food obsessions have been roasted Brussels sprouts, pita/hummus, and Mandarin oranges. I have consumed an embarrassing number of Mandarin oranges in the past week, and I just bought another bag today.

I know I will continue to eat Brussels sprouts, pita/hummus, and Mandarin oranges for the foreseeable future, but I also want to mix it up a bit. And thus, Mission #2 was created.

Try a new food.

That’s it. It’s open to whatever interpretation you want. You can try a food that you have never tasted before in your life. You can try a food you’ve eaten before but never cooked. Use a new recipe, go to a new restaurant, whatever. The point is to try something new and hopefully, to enjoy it.

I could easily get in a cinnamon roll rut if they were faster to make.

I’m hoping to try a food that is new to me altogether, but I ‘m not sure what that will be yet. I am a ridiculously picky eater, so if I haven’t tried a specific food, there’s usually a reason. BUT I know that if I can go from detesting Brussels sprouts to eating them multiple times a week, then I can find another food I can at least tolerate, if not love.

Bon appetit!

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Monday Mission and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

