Second Challenge: Try a New Food!

So far this week, I tried one entirely new-to-me food: avocado ice cream. I am not a big ice cream fan, but I have to say. It was delicious. It definitely tastes like avocado, but it’s kind of subtle. If you didn’t know what flavor it was, you might have a hard time guessing what it is. The green might give it away, but I don’t know that avocado would be your first guess. You’d probably be thinking, “but this doesn’t taste like green tea…”

Yum! New favorite flavor.

I also tried a new recipe for pho. I am a big fan of pho, so that’s nothing new for me. But I generally don’t make it myself (I’ve tried it once before), and it was pretty quick and easy since I used premade beef broth rather than starting from scratch.

Pho, take two.

Other new food items are in the queue since I’ll have a chance to cook over the long weekend.

Butternut squash: I am about 98% sure I have never eaten it, and I am 100% sure I have never cooked it. I plan to roast it according to this recipe from the PPK.

ps: it is hard to make a butternut squash look photogenic

Lotus root tempura: I haven’t had this in ages. I used to go to an awesome restaurant in Phoenix with my ex (well, he wasn’t at the time, but y’know) that made lotus root tempura. It was so. so. good. Good enough that even I remember it like, four years later, which is saying something since I have a terrible memory. I’ve never cooked lotus root before, and I’ve never even made tempura, so this should be fun.

Lotus root looks like a totally fake food to me.

Thai red curry: this will be lunch for next week. I make it semi-frequently, but this time I am mixing it up a bit with Thai eggplant (not a new ingredient for me, but I can only get it at the Asian market), fresh bamboo shoots (that’s a new one)…

I didn't realize bamboo shoots were so... conical. Interesting, no?

and lemongrass (I never find it anywhere, so that’s a new one, too).

It smells really deliciously spicy.

But don’t worry, I only use my ingredients as a fake moustache when I’m cooking for myself. I promise.

I couldn't resist.

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Weekend Wrap-up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Challenge: Try a New Food!

  1. Janet Regina says:

    I make curry A LOT. However, I have never made red curry. Probably, because it requires “red curry paste” which I never purchase.

    Love, love, love butternut squash!

    I have never had lotus root. If it wasn’t fried, I would try it!

Leave a Reply

