Challenge #3: Eat your fruits and veggies!

So…. this past week I totally failed at being a grown up. I had good intentions of cooking (and eating) real food, but it just never really happened. I’m pretty sure I ate ice cream for dinner one night. As a result, some of my veggies went bad (like my Thai eggplants! boo!), and I decided I needed to eat real food again.

This week, I’m trying to do better. So my goal is to eat at least five fruits/ veggies each day.

Yum! Well, except for the celery.

I’ve already used some of this to make the Cypriot Chickpea Stew with Spinach from Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian cookbook. That’s why I have the celery- generally I am not at all a celery eater, but I figured I should at least try it since it’s called for in the recipe. The only change I made to it was that I added half a serrano pepper (in addition to the three dried chiles it calls for). If I were to make it again, I would add a whole serrano, perhaps two. The stew doesn’t have any spices, aside from the dried chiles, so I think it needs more heat. It was good though.

Oh my darlings, clementines... until I move on to my next food obsession.

It goes without saying that I will continue to eat clementines obsessively until my next food craving appears. I just can’t get enough of these things for some reason!

Brr!

I’m hoping to make some smoothies too (frozen cherries, blueberries, and strawberries. with a package of squid beneath, but I think I’ll leave them out of the smoothies for now). I’m still such a weenie with “cold” weather (like, 38 degrees in the morning here), so I don’t know if I will make any smoothies, but they at least *sound* good.

So there you have it. Fruits and veggies. Today I’ve had four clementines (told you I can’t get enough of them!) and a bowl of the chickpea stew (has spinach, tomato, celery, and onion). For dinner I’m planning to make this delicious recipe, which I make with sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes.

I think I can give myself a gold star for the day. Now if I could just stay away from the Dr. Pepper.

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Monday Mission and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenge #3: Eat your fruits and veggies!

  1. Mart says:

    I seriously need to participate in this challenge! I have not been eating my veggies like I should. I have been eating plenty of fruit, though – I’m rather obsessed with it right now. And clementines are one of the only things I can reliable expect Ian to eat these days. He’ll eat 4 a day some days, when he’s being REALLY picky otherwise.
    Also, I think we need to start a Dr Pepper addiction support group.=-P

  2. Laura says:

    you have inspired me to make a smoothie with my forgotten frozen berries tomorrow morning too! That sounds yum!

Leave a Reply

