Challenge #9: Yum!

So last week I planned out my meals. I made three different things for lunches/ dinners, and continued my habit of eating peanut butter toast for breakfast. No Taco Shop, no random gas station snacks. Success!

I made a bunch of salad all in one go and put it into four rubbermaid things. It was a spinach/ spring mix combination, plus tomatoes (locally grown in Willcox, strangely enough), red bell pepper, cucumber, feta, and olives. All I had to do was add dressing (oil and vinegar) and ta- da!

Delicious Salad!

I also made a quasi- bhindi do piaza adapted from this recipe. It’s better with a little of bit of tomato paste to make more of a sauce, I think. Also, cooking the tomatoes at the beginning instead of at the end.

The last thing I did was thaw the pasta sauce that’s been in my freezer for a bit, and make some meatballs to go with it. It made two meals worth with the random amount of penne I had in my cabinet.

In all, I managed to eat real food all week, and I didn’t have to stress about not having any groceries or anything around to take for lunch (a lot of the time I don’t bring my lunch it’s because I have food, but it’s not food that’s actually convenient to take to work and reheat, etc).

I just finished my meals for this week, too. I spent the afternoon cooking (enjoyable when I’m not tired/stressed/ starving after work), and now my fridge looks like this:

Full, just like me!

It contains:

  • five more containers of salad
  • two containers of broccoli pasta, which I used to make all the time last year and forgot about for some reason
  • two containers of vindaloo from Madhur Jaffrey’s Quick and Easy Indian Cooking
  • four containers of Potato Chana Curry from Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian

I ate some broccoli pasta for lunch, and the two containers are leftovers. Then I cooked the vindaloo and the curry, and they were done around dinnertime. I ate some vindaloo for dinner, and the other containers are leftover rice + vindaloo, plus one other container of rice that was leftover. The curry is GOOD. Like, surprisingly good. Which is a good thing because it makes a TON.

Plus, I got some kumquats, which I don’t think I’ve ever had before and don’t really know what to do with. They look good though. What should I do with them?

 

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weekend Wrap-up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

