Challenge #10: Into the double digits!

As you may have noticed, I talk about food a lot. Recipes, meal-planning, and all the kinda thing. And I like food, but mostly, I’m just trying to get back into a routine.

I like routines. I have some that I don’t think I can ever break (for instance, a cup of chai first thing in the morning, rain or shine, cold weather or warm; or my daily photo which I may have to do forever, just because it feels weird not to). But I tend to pick up habits for random amounts of time only to leave them by the wayside for reasons unknown. Okay, not always. Over the past year when I was sleeping 98% of the time, many of my routines and habits were left by the wayside because you can only do so much in 28 minutes a day.

One habit I was in was meal-planning for the week, and I hope I’ve given myself a kick in the butt to start that up again. Another habit that I thought was really good for me hasn’t been in the mix since oh, January 24, 2010, according to my records.

No, really.

I used to keep a notebook with a list of five good things that happened each day. I started on 10/18/08, which was a good plan because traditionally October is my Month of Doom. But my last entry was 1/24/10, and the handful before that were pretty puny. I was trying to keep it up, but I was so tired that it was hard to think of anything, let alone write it down. It got to the point where I wanted to write:

“1. I wrote this entire sentence before falling asle”

So I stopped.

I liked keeping this list though. I liked thinking about things that happened throughout the day and telling myself, “Oh! I should write this one down later!” and I like looking back through my lists and remembering stuff I forgot about. I’m not a very consistent or detailed journal-keeper, but five short things a day is doable, right?

This is all a long-winded way of saying: This week’s challenge is to write down a list of five good things about each day. Who’s with me?

About The Wonderful Blog

This blog is inspired by the Mae West quotation that "Too much of a good thing is wonderful." Each week I'll post a challenge to make your life more wonderful. It might be food, exercise, travel, or beauty related. Be sure to participate each week so that you can have too much of a good thing. I'm Jen. I'm a speech therapist in Arizona who likes to make stuff, cook delicious food, and complete items from my list of 101 Things to Do in 1001 Days. This blog is just another way for me to focus on doing things that make my life even more wonderful.
This entry was posted in Monday Mission and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenge #10: Into the double digits!

  1. Mart says:

    I’m totally with you on this one! I need to do this badly right now.

  2. Laura says:

    we needs more challenges!

Leave a Reply

